Beryl

I picked Beryl to study next because the one I owned was from India which we visited last year.  I didn’t get it in India but it was in my Mining and Geology of the Old West Kit.  Then I realized it was the one in the Bible in the same row as Onyx and Jasper in the High Priest’s breastplate.  The word beryl is taken from many different languages, from a word that is like beryl.  “Beryl” means “precious blue-green color-of-sea-water stone”.  Beryl is found in the US, Norway, Austria, Germany, Sweden, Ireland, Russia, Madagascar, Mazambique, South Africa, Brazil, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Zambia, and India.  Red beryl is a very pretty bright red variety of beryl.  Aquamarine is a very pretty blue and is another variety of beryl.  There are a few more varieties, such as emerald, but I’m not going to list all of them.  Beryl’s hardness is 7½- 8. The element Beryllium (Be) is in Beryl, that’s also how it got it’s name.  Most beryl is equant but some are prismatic in shape.  I will tell you more about these shapes in my next blog post.

3 thoughts on “Beryl

  1. Mrs. Brown says, “it sounds like a pretty stone.” Michaela says, “I agree.” Mr. Brown says, “Makes we want to go to the beach and stare at the beryl color sea.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

